2018 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship
St George - May 4-6    |    Finke - June 8-11    |    Rainbow - August 10-12                  

2018 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship
Griffith - March 16-18     |     Mildura - April 20-22     |     Sea Lake - June 08-10     |     Waikerie - July 13-15     |     Goondiwindi - Aug 17-19     |     Millicent - Sept 21-23

Owen tames the Lake
Saturday, 09 June 2012
Mother Nature shone on competitors, spectators and officials alike at the first day of the MBL Sea Lake Mallee Rally and the running of the prologue to determine the all-important start order for tomorrows 425km race.

Warrnambool’s Glenn Owen with Griffith’s Matt Ryan in the navigator’s seat blitzed the field of 114 starters to take outright honours in a time of 3:13.18. The Owen Truss’s Jimco was fastest through the speed trap on the finish straight about 2km from the prologue end. His recorded speed was 202 by the speed detection device was 202kph. Images from the speed trap will be available in the photo gallery later on today.

1402b_sm With the format of the event including a two at a time start, lining up against Owen for the drag race to the first corner will be South Australian’s Toby Francombe and Matt Ridley in the Rids Race Frame Joker #942 in 3:16.77.

Rounding out the prologue podium with the slightest of gaps back to third was last year’s event winner, the Element Racing #57 of Aaron Haby with a time of 3:17.55. Matt Hanson and Leigh Wells have put down an impressive 3:19.63 to secure fourth and second line on the start grid opposite Haby, while Brad Prout in the Prout Unicap Jimco #9 will line up along side Chris Western and Stewy Bishop in the Mickey Thompson Off Road Rush Truck #402.

111 competitors started today’s prologue with the late withdrawal of Ivan Robertson and Gavin Mickle (#471) and Vasilios Tsaousis and Tim Tettamanti (#834).

Three vehicles failed to finish the 8km course; Peter Homer and Dane Meridith rolled the #144 ProLite but sustained minimal damage with the car fixed and ready to greet the start lights tomorrow. Paul Volta and Lachlan McQueen succumbed to a broken steering arm in the #288 machine while the 212 Super 1650 of Jason and Taylor Hannig suffered engine failure. The Hannig team are making a hurried trip to Melbourne to pick up a replacement engine to enable the team to go racing tomorrow.

The event has attracted one of the largest fields in recent history and its set to be a full on days racing tomorrow as 111 vehicles line up for the 5 laps endure.

Photographer 2: John Lyden