2018 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship
St George - May 4-6    |    Finke - June 8-11    |    Rainbow - August 10-12                  

2018 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship
Griffith - March 16-18     |     Mildura - April 20-22     |     Sea Lake - June 08-10     |     Waikerie - July 13-15     |     Goondiwindi - Aug 17-19     |     Millicent - Sept 21-23

Agrella Leads WAORC after Round 1
Wednesday, 20 February 2013
The 4WD Hire WA Rod Hatter Memorial Yealering 300 has been run and won with Darren Agrella and Ryan Barton #39 taking out the first round of action for the Western Australian Off Road Championship for 2013.

1727b_sm It was a hot and dusty track which greeted the 38 strong field and after scrutiny and reconnaissance early Saturday the action heated up with the running of the prologue and then two competitive laps in the afternoon.

Without a prevailing wind, dust became a factor later in the day. Prologue saw some of the hard chargers put an end to their campaign early, most notably Harleigh Uren, clipping a tree and putting him out less than 50 metres from the finish line, whilst the #412 of Rawlings lost a wheel. But up the front it would be Darren Agrella looking to stamp his authority on the field Brad Cooper and top ProLite runner Phil Shepley.

1727c_sm With the first section getting underway the field took no time getting into the swing of things as battles raged up and down the field. Scott Bryce, after being slowed on prologue with mechanical issues, jumped up the leader board on lap one only to record a DNF with a mechanical issue early on lap two.

Chris Dawes led the way in Production 4WD with Panomarenko and Murray snapping at his heels. In Extreme 4WD Owen Davies moved into the lead over Horn and Krepp with the latter finishing the section with some panel damage after an altercation with a buggy. Jon Beer led the way in Performance 2WD and Dave McShane raced to an early advantage over Pickersgill and Mann-Piercy. Up the front Phil Shepley closed the gap on Cooper enough to put himself into second place outright over night with Agrella still out in front.

1727d_sm Day two and conditions were slightly cooler, but for the somewhat reduced field this would be no consolation with two laps followed by a 30 minute service and another two gruelling laps putting the field through its paces.

Agrella continued to lead the event early as his challengers slowly started to fall away; Shepley with a mechanical issue and Cooper breaking the rear suspension, leaving the Swain pairing and the Elphinstone’s to take up the chase.

At the refuelling point Agrella still maintained his lead however, with some blistering final laps the Prolite Jimco of Murray and Tyrone Swain managed to steal the section win and first in ProLite for the weekend, but unfortunately not enough time to take the outright victory. Elphinstone managed to hang onto third place outright ahead of the charging pro-truck of McShane with Pickersgills trophy truck not far behind. Chris Dawes in the Road Runner Off Road Patrol took out an impressive sixth outright and first in class.

Extreme 4WD winner Brad Krepp came in ninth outright after Peer and Samuel Horn couldn’t quite keep the pace of the BTB Motorsports Patrol and overnight leader Davies encountered mechanical gremlins on day one before a spirited fight back landed the #828 Navara in third place.

Performance 2WD and once again Jon Beer took the win with Stuart Graham as navigator. OB Racings Harley O’Brien and Nik Valenti made the most of a trip down from Geraldton to take the Super 1650 class win and 11th Outright.

The Nissan Car Club would like to thank all those who volunteered time to make the event run smoothly, the property owners, all the competitors, spectators, officials and event sponsors for helping start the year in the best way possible

The crews now look to Hyden for the second round of the Western Australian Off Road Championship and to kick of the Australian Off Road Championship over the Easter long weekend.

Source and Photographer: Jason Galea, Flat Out Off Road Racing Team