2018 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship
St George - May 4-6    |    Finke - June 8-11    |    Rainbow - August 10-12                  

2018 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship
Griffith - March 16-18     |     Mildura - April 20-22     |     Sea Lake - June 08-10     |     Waikerie - July 13-15     |     Goondiwindi - Aug 17-19     |     Millicent - Sept 21-23

Thursday, 28 March 2013

The 2013 Australian Off Road Championship revs into action this weekend with the return of the first round to Hyden in the Wave Rock tourist region of Western Australia.

The Komatsu-Brooks Hire Hyden 450 will see a mixture of 2012 AORC campaigners returning to defend their titles along with those aiming for a higher reward in 2013, new competitors on the AORC block and the return of some regulars to the circuit.

Reining Aus #1 Champions Matt Hanson and Leigh Wells have a new racing partner on board in Snap Printing for the new season and are ready to hit the ground running in the Snap SMU Racing Jimco, chasing back to back Australian Off Road Championship crowns.

Aus #3 Gerald Reid has a new navigator for the start of the 2013 racing year in Werner Zettle and has just announced a partnership with Gulf Western Oil for the Springwood Car Care team. Reid is relishing the challenge of running against Hanson after their competitive 2012 season along with the mix of talent on the Hyden competitor list.

Pro class is always one to watch with the upcoming season offering some talented competitors in the always hard fought class. SR Racing’s Shannon and Ian Rentsch are returning to the championship looking for their sixth crown while Outer Bounds Racing young guns Travis Robinson and Paul Currie will be pulling out all the stops to finish their 2013 campaign with the ultimate prize, the Aus #1 mantle.

Runamuk Racing have taking on a big challenge this year, planning on presenting three race cars at each round of the Australian Off Road Championship, with team owners Buddy and Kerry Crowe another on the long list chasing their first AORC title. Rhodes Racing have proven they are a team on a mission with Jack Rhodes putting in some impressive times in the ProLite class. With a new navigator in David Pullino on the seat, the team have stepped up from ProLite class to Pro class and have a new Jimco Aussie Special in the stable, and will be one to watch come the Easter weekend.

Hayden Tatnell has made the trek from Tasmania to compete in his BAT 1 Spec #10 machine and is a consistently fast finisher and could be another one to watch come the checkered flag.

The ProLite class crown is wide open with 2012 champion Matt Owen selling his Alumi Craft machine at the end of season. RevTech Motorsports Wes Cowie and Travis Milburn #108 are looking to get some runs on the board for their 2013 AORC aspirations and they head into round two at Finke. Fellow Tatts Finke Desert Race local Andrew Mowles has made substantial modifications to his Razorback over the summer break, converting the single seat to a twin seat configuration.

Driving five days from their Brisbane base to compete at Hyden shows the dedication that the Hartnett Motor Racing team have to their 2013 campaign, aiming to step up from their 2012 #203 plate to the class pinnacle #201 come years end. 2012 Super 1650 class Western Australian Off Road Champions Jeremy Lia and Xavier White will be biting at the heels of the Queenslanders as they take on the seven strong field of Super 1650s.

Extreme 2WD class will be the class to watch as the Geiser Brothers Trophy Trucks take on the Pro buggies for outright places. Geddit Racing’s Billy Geddes and Jamie Ward are quick peddlers in any language; leading the field at the third round of the 2012 Championship at Goondiwindi before a spectacular rollover ended their weekend. We also haven’t seen the best out of Beau Robinson in his relatively new drive; the Outer Bounds Racing #413 rolling at its maiden run at the 2012 Tatts Finke Desert Race while running at the pointy end of the field. Come the drop of the checkered flag on Sunday, the podium mix is anyone guess.

Four teams have nominated for Performance 2WD class with South Australian’s Scott Gould and Matt Haywood looking to go one better than their #502 2012 result. A strong field of nine Production 4WD’s has nominated for the opportunity to race at Smith’s Place for the final time with AORC stalwart Geoff Pickering and his young charge Dylan Watson returning to Hyden after their up and down 2012 campaign. With a strong local backing this class will be hotly contested all the way to the finish line.

The tin top classes are widely supported in Western Australia with 11 nominated for the Extreme 4WD class. Hunter Racing’s Colin Hunter and Simon Campbell will be hoping for a good start to their 2013 campaign, and with the New Zealand team and current class champions not defending this year, the title is wide open. Hunter will be looking for a good points haul this weekend to give the team a head start on the class competition with class nemesis, Clayton Chapman plans a return to the Championship in his new Mitsubishi Triton at round two.

Being the last time that competition will take place at Smithy Place, a large contingent of Western Australian locals has nominated to pay homage to the Smith family, the infamous course and the Western Desert Races for all their years of service to Western Australia Off Road Racing.

Who will be the last competitor to write their names in the off road history book, taking the final outright win at Smithy’s?

Event Information, can be found here.

Author: Julie Rogers - offroadracing.com.au Media Desk