2018 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship
St George - May 4-6    |    Finke - June 8-11    |    Rainbow - August 10-12                  

2018 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship
Griffith - March 16-18     |     Mildura - April 20-22     |     Sea Lake - June 08-10     |     Waikerie - July 13-15     |     Goondiwindi - Aug 17-19     |     Millicent - Sept 21-23

Quality Field for SA season opener
Friday, 12 April 2013
South Australian off road racers will get their chance to hit the track at this weekend’s running of the first round of the South Australian Off Road Championship at Mannum in the Murraylands region of South Australia.

With a quality field of 21 nominations already received from three states, the competition for the outright win will be fierce and the clashes brewing across the classes.

The track is marked and ready for the battles for line honours to begin. The Haby brothers have again generously handed their land over to the Adelaide Buggy Club and the Spencer Gulf Off Road Association for the event.

The question that will be answered by the end of Sunday’s racing; can Aaron Haby and the Element Racing Team start the year off with a win on home turf, with the now one car team entering the #57 Southern Cross Element Single Seat machine, while Carl Haby is sidelined as his new Element Off Road Pro buggy is under construction.

The cream of South Australian off roaders are entered with five interstaters thrown into the mix. Leading the charge to the front will be long time off road campaigner Bob Strawbridge with grandson Corey Smith in the navigator’s seat of their Southern Cross Mk6 #16 Pro buggy, with the quick peddler Wally Francombe and daughter Maree in the Rids Race Frame machine #42 looking for a quick run.

The dark knight likely to upset the South Australian’s apple cart is the GET #954 of Queenslanders Dan Bonnor and Richard Clapham; using the event as a shakedown for their 2013 season. James Madden’s Razorback #81 and Lindsay Foster in the Scorpion #91 will also be ones to watch, all capable of the outright win after Sundays racing.

The ProLite battle will be on from the drop of the green flag with Luke Erceg debuting his Matrix #150, fresh from the Erceg Motorsport workshop after being custom designed and manufactured in house by Luke. Dad Ben will be campaigning the teams Chenowth #151 with Bruce Waldron doing the navigating duties. Victorian Brett Smith has made the trip across the border again with the Southern Cross Mk V in tow, taking on brother in law Mike Peake in the navigators seat. With the nomination of Smith, it will see three generations of the Strawbridge clan taking to the track this weekend.

Another regular at the Mannum track with their Super 1650 is the Mildura father and son team of Ken, Ben and Justin Philp #211 up against locals Aaron Cole #278 and Michael Bennett #285.

Five tin tops are entered with four in Extreme 2WD and one in Extreme 4WD. Luke and Daniel Hall are the lone Extreme 4WD nominations and will be looking to continue their good 2013 form after their recent podium finish at Portland, hoping to take the South Australian silverware across the border to Victoria.

The Roe family are back on track with Geoff, Liz and Tyson entering the Geiser Brothers Trophy Truck. This will be the class to watch with Bruce Muir and Gavin Rayner no slouches in their Holden #422 machine while the Victorian team of Stephen Collette and Andrew Suckling are also capable of causing an upset in the #435 Richard Bennet Truck.

Perfect racing conditions are forecast; with prologue and top ten shoot out on Saturday and the race proper on Sunday, who has the grit and determination to take the outright victory at Mannum this weekend.

Schirmer Shack and their tasty offerings will be on site ready to serve dinner on Friday night right through until race end.

The Mannum Enduro is jointly promoted by the Adelaide Buggy Club and Spencer Gulf Off Road Association, with both clubs looking forward to staging a memorable start to the 2013 season.

Supplementary Regulations, Competitor List and Event Information can be found here.