2018 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship
St George - May 4-6    |    Finke - June 8-11    |    Rainbow - August 10-12                  

2018 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship
Griffith - March 16-18     |     Mildura - April 20-22     |     Sea Lake - June 08-10     |     Waikerie - July 13-15     |     Goondiwindi - Aug 17-19     |     Millicent - Sept 21-23

Clean Sweep for Payne
Wednesday, 17 April 2013
Darren Payne and Kerri Wallace have started the 2013 season with a clean sweep at last weekend’s Latrobe event, taking outright honours in the first Tasmanian State Series round for 2013.

1824b_sm Second outright was Chris Boon in his Hayabusa powered ProLite followed by Brad Rockliff home in third in his Hunter Rivmasta.

The Latrobe circuit had undergone major drainage and surface preparation prior to the event and despite rain the night before and up until start time the track was in fantastic shape. The efforts of the North West Off Road Car Club paying off producing a near perfect race track with no dust and a surface that got faster and faster as the day went on. Despite the disappointment of unusually low numbers for this event, spectators were treated to some traditional short course wheel to wheel racing all day.

1824c_sm Payne’s weekend started with clocking the fastest prologue time earning him the sought after pole line at Latrobe, his day only got better from there leading the event from start to finish.

Wayne Cambell and Stuart O’Brian started their season in a blaze setting some impressive lap times in the #28 Pro Buggy, but midway through the second section the rear mounts on the diff failed, sidelining the car for the remainder of the event.

1824d_sm The first round also saw the return of James and Andrew Giffard to the sport in a Super 1650 after several years away racing; the boys previously campaigning a Datsun sedan in Performance 2WD. The brothers took the fight up to reigning Super 1650 state champions Adrian and Mel Lowry in what was a two car battle for a class win, which was eventually taken by the Lowry’s.

The ProLite battle was as expected between Payne, Boon and Rockliff - all drivers pushing their cars hard right till the flag dropped. Whilst Payne lead the way Boon and Rockliff raced all day fighting it out for second and third on the road; Boon setting the fastest lap time for the event late in section four.

The next State Series round will be on the 18th May, hosted by the Southern Off Road Racing association at Kempton 30km north of Hobart on the Midlands Highway.

Source and Photographer: Michael Donohoe, offroadracingtasmania.com.au