2018 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship
St George - May 4-6    |    Finke - June 8-11    |    Rainbow - August 10-12                  

2018 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship
Griffith - March 16-18     |     Mildura - April 20-22     |     Sea Lake - June 08-10     |     Waikerie - July 13-15     |     Goondiwindi - Aug 17-19     |     Millicent - Sept 21-23

Pro Buggies Lead AORC Points Charge
Wednesday, 17 July 2013
With round three of the 2013 Australian Off Road Championship only two weeks away, the current championship fight for #Aus1 remains heavily skewed towards Pro Buggy competitors, who currently claim nine out the top 10 placings in the series.

Heading into the Bentley’s Cabin Park Flinders 450 on July 27-28, only Queensland’s Billy Geddes in the #441 Extreme 2WD Trophy Truck claims a berth in fourth place, with his nearest trophy truck rival, Geoff Roe from South Australia, back in 11th.

Two different event winners have claimed the first two rounds of 2013, and both sit atop the leaderboard with just 33 points separating them. Round one in Hyden WA saw Victorian Shannon Rentsch #33 take the event spoils, and remains the current championship and Pro Buggy class leader ahead of this year’s Tatts Finke Desert Race winner – and Flinders 450 promoter – Hayden Bentley #18 from South Australia in second.

Bentley leap frogged the reigning champion Matt Hanson Aus#1 for second place after his spectacular single seat victory during round two last month, however Hanson remains in contention for his title defense in third place.

Queensland’s Billy Geddes in the #441 Extreme 2WD Trophy Truck sits fourth overall after consistent results at both Hyden and Alice Springs, and leads the Extreme 2WD class. Fellow Sunshine state competitor Nev Taylor #6 has raced a consistent season to sit in fifth, while Mark Burrows #21, Gerald Reid #3 and Travis Robinson #13 round out the top eight.

Leading the charge in the classes are Colin Hunter in Extreme 4WD and Scott Gould in Performance 2WD. Russell and Judy Hartnett, after missing round two, lead the Super 1650 class.

In ProLite it’s Mal Yeardly out in front, while in Production 4WD Wayne Panomarenko and Geoff Pickering are tied for first after claiming the first and second round class victories respectively.

A full list of the Australian Off Road Championship leaderboard after two rounds of competition can be found here

The Flinders 450 event, held at Baroota, just north of Port Pirie in South Australia, is one of the country’s longest established off road racing tracks with over 40 years of history under its belt.

In 2011 it received a major facelift to make it one of the benchmark venues for both competitors and spectators. The traditional track featuring the famous berms and caverns now loops close to the state of the art pit facilities and spectator area on a number of occasions, with a spectacular series of jumps and whooped-out sections of track showcasing the high performance of the off road racing machinery entered.

The Bentley’s Cabin Park Flinders 450 will kick off on Friday night July 26 with scrutiny, before the cars hit the track for two days of off road racing action on Saturday morning with prologue. Event Information can be found here.

Source: HP Sports Management