2018 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship
St George - May 4-6    |    Finke - June 8-11    |    Rainbow - August 10-12                  

2018 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship
Griffith - March 16-18     |     Mildura - April 20-22     |     Sea Lake - June 08-10     |     Waikerie - July 13-15     |     Goondiwindi - Aug 17-19     |     Millicent - Sept 21-23

Colborne Tastes Victory at Burdekin
Monday, 12 May 2014
Chris Colborne has taken out his first outright race win in his Nissan powered ProLite Jimco at the Burdekin 180, the second round of the Total Off Road North Queensland Super Series.

2465b_sm Fine and cool conditions greeted 21 cars for scrutineering, including two Pro Buggies, seven ProLites, three Super 1650, one Performance 2WD, one Extreme 2WD and seven SuperLite (formally UTV), with day one of racing underway by 10am on Saturday.

The prologue went off without a hitch, with competitors enjoying the varied terrain 11.3km track, including long straights, sweeping corners, and a tight motorcross section. Talbot Cox and navigator Jayson Roberts blitzed the competition in prologue, putting over 15 seconds between the Racer Engineering Pro buggy and their closest competition - Andrew Sollitt in his Subaru powered Sollittico.

With track familiarisation out of the way, most competitors knocked their times back considerably in heat one, including Simon Ivers in his Honda CBR powered Barracuda Super 1650 taking a massive 24 seconds off his prologue time and Brock and Adele Sievers knocking 22 seconds off their prologue.

2465c_sm Heat one was cut short for Jeff Marson and Tony Buckingham in their ProLite Kadco with a stub axle failure seeing them scrambling to repair the car mid track. Also having dramas were Graham Moohin and Ernie Sievers in the Orionstone SuperLite Polaris with a clutch issue seeing them towed back to the pit for repairs.

Heats two and three saw lap times level out and some competitors find pace. Cox and Roberts were constantly knocking seconds off in the Racer Engineering machine, and despite cutting 24 seconds from his lap time in heat two, Andrew Sollitt was still chasing a 30 second gap. Hunting Sollitt were father and son team Andrew and Rhys North in the Momentum Constructions Nissan powered ProLite, only 8 seconds behind.

2465d_sm While heat two saw drama for the RZR 1000 Polaris SuperLite of Nathan Hayden and Angela Brown, with a belt breakage seeing them in the pits for repairs, as they got back out on the track for heat three, brother Nick Hayden and navigator Tenika Munro suffered a broken shock in their 1000 Polaris SuperLite, ending their weekend.

The two final heats of the day saw more drama with Leonardo Castenella having driveline problem with his Hayabusa powered Barracuda and Simon Ivers in the pits completing repairs to his Honda powered Barracuda. Graham Moohin and Ernie Sievers had more issues with the Orinstone RZR900 SuperLite with a top end engine failure causing the end to their event.

2465e_sm Gaining speed at the end of Saturday were Brock and Adele Sievers in their V8 powered Mason TrophyLite, shaving another 17 seconds off their best time, also posting their best lap were Chris Colborne and Rob Turner in the Jimco ProLite lengthening the gap to Andrew and Rhys North in their ProLite.

After day one of racing Talbot Cox and Jayson Roberts had extended a convincing lead over the competition, second outright was Andrew Sollitt in his Subaru powered Sollitico ProLite with third outright at the overnight break going to Chris Colborne in his Jimco ProLite.

In the classes Talbot Cox and Jayson Roberts were on top in Pro Buggy in the Racer Engineering machine, with Andrew Sollitt in his Sollittico number one in ProLite. In Super 150 Rohan Mechant and Jessica Omdahl were on top, and Peter Moohin and Joe Bugeja were at the head of the SuperLite. Brock and Adele Sievers in their V8 Mason TrophyLite were running unopposed in Extreme 2WD as were Grant Hay and Brent Taylor in Performance 2WD.

Sunday saw racing get away early and drama ensue with outright leaders Cox and Roberts losing 30 seconds off their day one lap and retiring early due to engine issues in the Racer Engineering Pro buggy. With the leader out the race was on for the outright positions.

New outright leader Andrew Sollitt lost time on heat seven due to a clutch issue, opening the door for Chris Colbourne and Rob Turner to nose in front with consistent lap times in the Jimco ProLite.

By heat eight, there were only 17 teams left to take to track, and with competition points up for grabs the pedals were to the floor. Sollitt posted his best time in the ninth lap leaving Colborne seconds behind. With his first outright victory in sight, Colborne answered the challenge, slicing another 12 seconds off his best lap time and narrowly beating Sollitt by that margin.

Taking out his first ever Total Off Road North Queensland Super Series outright win was Chris Colborne and navigator Rob Turner in the Jimco ProLite, with Andrew Sollitt in the ProLite Sollittico in second and Andrew and Rhys North securing third in the Momentum Constructions ProLite.

In the Classes Michael Marson took out Pro buggy in his Matrix Grasshopper, with Talbot Cox and Jayson Roberts in second in the Racer Engineering machine.

In ProLite Chris Colborne and Rob Turner were on top of the time sheets, with Andrew Sollitt in second and Andrew and Rhys North in third.

Super 1650 honours went to Rohan Merchant and shared navigators Jessica and Nicholas Omdahl, with Brian Bradford and Karen Finnigan in second in their Solitco. Dave Skinner and Kasie Muller in their Nissan powered buggy rounded out the Super 1650 podium.

The SuperLite class was won by Peter Moohin and Joe Bugeja in the RZR900, with Brian Moohin and Darryl Forrest in second in the RZR900, and Mark Edmonds and Warran Hanley third in their debuting RZR1000.

In Extreme 2WD, despite losing 4cyl for the final lap, Brock and Adele Sievers made it to full race distance and took home the trophy in their Mason TrophyLite. Grant Hay and Brent Taylor took out Performance 2WD (as well as a section of fence earlier in the day).

The next round of the Total Off Road North Queensland Super Series will be held in conjunction with the Queensland Off Road Championship round on the 21 & 22nd of June at the Retreat Station.

The event organisers would like to thanks the Clair Armature Anglers for the catering (with proceeds donated to charity), and all of the officials, scrutineers, checkpoints, and competitors for their continued support of the event.

Results can be found here.

Source: Adele Sievers
Photographers: Jess Tonion, Andrew Walkerden, Adele Sievers