2018 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship
St George - May 4-6    |    Finke - June 8-11    |    Rainbow - August 10-12                  

2018 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship
Griffith - March 16-18     |     Mildura - April 20-22     |     Sea Lake - June 08-10     |     Waikerie - July 13-15     |     Goondiwindi - Aug 17-19     |     Millicent - Sept 21-23

Super 1650 Takes Top Honour at Koorlong
Monday, 19 May 2014
A nice sunny day greeted the 12 competitors who entered Saturday’s running of the Koorlong Kruz.

A prologue lap held over 15km saw #297 Robert Plant and Ryan Burr top the leader board with a time of 09:51:95 followed closely by #211 Ben Philp and Kurt Reid 09:53:80. Rounding out the top three was #173 Jason Noonan and James Cummins in a prologue time of 10:14:66.

2475b_sm Prologue was cut short for #27 Greg Johns and Shayne Parle after breaking the front end on the Sting Ray Pro Buggy. Evan Lampard, had his first drive of father Geoff’s Rivmasta #225, with his brother Braeden taking on navigator duties, clocking in a prologue time of 10:35.41.

Robert Plant and Ryan Burr’s luck ran out when they broke a link pin on the Hornet on lap three, leaving the gap wide open for Ben Philp and Kurt Reid to take the lead in the #211 Southern Cross. Also having dramas in the first section was the Benbuilt Sportsman buggy of Glen Hollis and Shaun McKay #373, having electrical issues on lap two.

Competitors used the lunch break to complete repairs on their vehicles allowing Robert Plant #297 and Glen Hollis #373 to get back in the race.

2475c_sm Lap one of section three saw Colin McLaren #127 lose a wheel on his McLarracuda putting an end to his day. Sophie Lampard took over the navigating duties alongside brother Evan from brother Braeden in the #225 Rivmasta, when they had a gentle rollover; both Evan and Sophie where uninjured. Robert Plant’s bad day continued having issues on lap six.

Ben Philp and Kurt Reid #211 took outright honours in the Super 1650 Southern Cross with a time of 1:37:19:56 4 mins ahead of Jason Noonan and James Cummins #173 Jimco Aussie Spec 1:41:41:13 followed by Anthony Devito, Luke Anderson and Toby Francombe sharing navigator duties #555 F100 with a time of 1:44:19:30.

ProLite was taken out by Jason Noonan and James Cummins on their first outing at this venue.

Super 1650 honours went to Ben Philp and Kurt Reid with father and son team of David and Mathew Nikiforoff #290 in second.

In Sportsman class the top spot went to Taylor Hannig and Drew McClelland #313 in the Southern Cross.

The combined Performance 2WD and Extreme 2WD class victory went to Anthony DeVito with navigators Luke Anderson and Toby Francombe #555; this was the first time they had competed at the Koorlong track. Second in the combined class went to Craig Button and David Anderson #469 with Darran and Naiomi Vanderwoude #544 rounding out the podium. This was also the first time husband and wife team have competed at a Sunraysia Motor Sport Club event.

Sunraysia Motor Sports Club would like to thank the officials and volunteers for their time and the competitors that travelled to the event; making is a successful day’s racing.

Results can be found here.

Source: Sunraysia Motor Sport Club
Photographer: Van Nixon