2018 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship
St George - May 4-6    |    Finke - June 8-11    |    Rainbow - August 10-12                  

2018 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship
Griffith - March 16-18     |     Mildura - April 20-22     |     Sea Lake - June 08-10     |     Waikerie - July 13-15     |     Goondiwindi - Aug 17-19     |     Millicent - Sept 21-23

Cox and King victors at Burdekin - Updated
Sunday, 14 May 2017
The final day of the Burdekin Motorcycles 250 saw 16 of the 25 nominated back on track for the final two heats.

Heat 4 would see the pack divided again for three laps of the 21km track. Brock Sievers was first off the line in the Matrix Grasshopper class 10 buggy, followed by Allan Muir in his Yamaha XYZ and Brayden Misfud in his Polaris RZR.

Trouble on the track saw Matthew Brice pull off the track with a belt issue in his Polaris RZR, only to get going again and suffer another issue. Misfud was running hot, overtaking Muir and pulling a 2 minute gap over the course of the heat, and finishing second for the heat after Sievers in Grasshopper who was a further 2 minutes ahead.

Talbot Cox led the way for group 2 in heat 4, in his Racer Engineering Tropic Petroleum Pro Buggy, followed by Michael Marson in the General Tire Australia Racer Engineering Pro Buggy and Robert Turner in his Desert Dynamics racer. Brad Hancock rejoined the back of the the field in his Polaris RZR and pushed hard to catch Doug Stainkey in his Can-Am.

The final heat saw both groups combined for one final 21km dash, and got away at 11am. Cox was first off the line, followed by Marson and Turner. An incident free run saw the field return unscathed to finish the weekend, with Talbot Cox crowned both outright and Pro Buggy class winner at his home track in Racer Engineering Tropic Petroleum Buggy. Michael Marson cemented second place in Pro Buggy and Outright in his General Tire Australia Racer Engineering Machine, while Rob Turner was third in both fields in his Desert Dynamics Chev powered buggy.

Prolite winner was Chris Colbourne in his Jimco, followed by Jimmy Dwyer in the Zarco Lite. Sports Lite was taken out by Chris Sollitt in his Subaru powered Sollittico, followed by Brock Sievers in the Matrix Grasshopper, and third was Waylon Jaggard in his Sollittico.

The super 1650 trophy went to Brad Hatch in his Toyota powered Southern Cross, and second was Rob Stieber in his Mitsubishi powered Southern Cross buggy.

The turbo Super-lite class was taken out by Doug Stainkey in his Can-Am, followed by junior Ned Hancock in his Polaris, and Gordon Fletcher in his Polaris. The non-turbo Super-lite trophy went to Junior Brayden Misfud in his Polaris RZR, with Allan Muir in his Yamaha XYZ in second, and third was Connor Bugeja in his Polaris RZR.

Congratulations again to the Burdekin Offroaders Club for their 30th anniversary, with a special mention to Gary Marchesini for 30 years of support. Gary was inducted as a lifetime member during the presentations to recognise his dedication to the club and sport. The Burdekin Off-roaders would like to thank their sponsors including Burdekin Motorcycles, thanks to all the volunteers working on everything from the track to the timing, and the Burdekin Amaturer Anglers for the catering. The next event in the North Queensland Super Series is in Charters Towers on the 24/25th June at the Millchester Motorsports Complex.

Results can be found here.

Source: Adele Sievers