2018 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship
St George - May 4-6    |    Finke - June 8-11    |    Rainbow - August 10-12                  

2018 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship
Griffith - March 16-18     |     Mildura - April 20-22     |     Sea Lake - June 08-10     |     Waikerie - July 13-15     |     Goondiwindi - Aug 17-19     |     Millicent - Sept 21-23

Schlifelner on top at Avalon - Updated
Thursday, 18 May 2017
Eric Schlifelner #155 has taken outright honours at the GORBA Mallee Shield Short Course crossing the finishing in 43m23.23seconds, 1m20seconds ahead of fellow single seat driver David Davis #161 in 44m47.01seconds.

Jake Williamson and Aiden Williams rounded out the GORBA Mallee Shield Short Course in the Yamaha SuperLite A #6639.

21 teams greeted the starter, running in three groups doing four races of seven laps in each. The track offered up good fast racing for the duration with the perfect weather and dust free running, 9 or the 21 teams competing full race distance, it was a fun day of off road racing round the Avalon circuit.

Mark and Suzi Smith’s #466 Baja looked fast all day, topping of their GORBA Mallee Shield Short Course with a first in Extreme 2WD and fourth outright after a well fought battle with Craig and Adam Button #469 finishing second in class and rounding out the GORBA Mallee Shield Short Course top five outright.

Sixth outright and first in Extreme 4WD class wend to Greg Shaw #896 who finished just 15 seconds ahead of the mother and daughter team of Megan and Skye Marcus in their #69 Pro buggy.

Tim Harris #440 slotted into seventh outright and third in Extreme 2WD class ahead of Steven and Janine Hodge #214 in eighth outright and taking home the trophy for first in Super 1650 class.

Unfortunately, Peter Sibson and Peter Babaro suffered engine failure in the #412 Extreme 2WD machine three laps into their second heat, however, a small consolation; they were awarded the GORBA Bright Spark award for taking out the fence at the end of the main straight.

Mick Harvey and Kyle Deacon #554 had problems early in the day and only competed in the second heat. Brant Knight #128 finished the first 7 lap heat however unable to front the start line for the following heats while Cameron Lyne #1011 had a light roll over but kept on going until other issues saw him struggle for the rest of the day.

Mark and Taryn Foster in the #413 Baja had a slight contact with a spun car, prematurely ending their Avalon racing and also ending the day for off road racing newcomer Robert Ellison in his #529 Datsun 1600.

Ian Terry and Nathan Wright had their share of bad luck with the #660 Polaris suffering a flat tyre in the second heat.

The Geelong Off Road Buggy Association would like to thank all the volunteers, recovery (who as always did a great job) the volunteers in the canteen, the flag wavers and those working the pits, scrutineering, timing, to John Mahon who was assessed by CAMS to be a steward, and to Clerk of the Course Travis Conrad who always runs our events professionally.

Results can be found here.