2018 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship
St George - May 4-6    |    Finke - June 8-11    |    Rainbow - August 10-12                  

2018 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship
Griffith - March 16-18     |     Mildura - April 20-22     |     Sea Lake - June 08-10     |     Waikerie - July 13-15     |     Goondiwindi - Aug 17-19     |     Millicent - Sept 21-23

2017 CAMS Hi-Tec Oils/M&R Distributors Victorian Off Road Championship Season Wrap Up
Friday, 08 December 2017
Source and Photographer: Corey Aldridge

The 2017 CAMS Hi-Tec Oils/M&R Distributors Victorian Off Road Championship was held over four rounds from the sand dunes of Portland at the start of the year to the dust of Bagshot to end the season.

Round 1 was the Harvestco King of the Dunes held on the picturesque sand dunes of Discovery Bay Portland. With a quality field of 22 competitors, including national racers Matt Hanson, Aaron James, Toby Whateley and sand specialist Shane Cottee, racing would be on in earnest from the start. It was Matt Hanson who got the jump and led the field after the first lap; unfortunately for local favourite Damien Nicol that’s where his race finished with a failed torque convertor putting the trophy truck back onto the trailer. Hanson also had problems with a CV circlip halting his charge.

The 2017 Harvestco King of the Dunes was won by Aaron James and Peter Luckraft in their Alumi Craft Pro Buggy #93 ahead of Eric Schlifelner in his Saber Prolite #155. Rounding out the podium was David Davis, also in a Saber ProLite, #161 with all three podiums positions held by debutants of the dunes.

Toby Whateley and Simon Herrmann in their Can Am #621 secured fourth outright and first in class with fifth place going to David Vallance and Mark Harrison #204, who also secured first in Super 1650 class.

Shane Cottee slotted the #907 CRC Exeter into sixth place; a monumental effort for his return to sand racing after an horrific accident in the same dunes in the 2012/2013 off season. Robert Moore and Deanne Thorne in their Trophy Truck #427 secured seventh outright and first in class with eighth place going to Daryl Nissan and Andrew Harness in the Sore ProLite #164 after suffering a broken fuel injector lead and losing time to repair.

Ninth outright and second in Super 1650 class was Andrew Glover and Connor Corrigan #272. Rounding out the top ten and last to complete the race distance was father and daughter team of Darren Mott with Teale and Bailee Mott sharing the navigating duties in their Trophy Truck #435.

The second round of the 2017 CAMS Hi-Tec Oils/M&R Distributors Victorian Off Road Championship saw entrants cross over the border to South Australia to Moorex for Glenroy Plains Produce PMD Race Products Off Road Masters where a field of 25 cars greeted the green flag.

It was Jack Rhodes in just the second drive of his new Jimco #1 taking a commanding 8 minute win over David Hall, however after investigation, Hall was excluded from results moving Ivan Schmocker into second overall in his Southern Cross Element Pro Buggy #58,

In third outright and first of the ProLites was Alan Dixon and Scott Palmer in their VQ35 powered Southern Cross #153. The remainder of the top ten consisted of David Davis in his Saber Pro Lite #161 in fourth, Todd Lehmann and Aaron Bermingham in their Pro Buggy #85 in fifth, Glenn and Courtney Wilkinson #124 secured sixth outright and second in class.

Seventh outright was Matthew and Rachel Bolton in their Bazco Pro Buggy #74 with eighth Outright and first in Extreme 2WD class going to Mark and Suzy Smith in their Chev powered Baja #466.

Winning Super 1650 and ninth outright was local favourite Troy and Ashleigh Johnstone in his Evolution #205 with another Super 1650 of Greg and Sarai Ryan #261 rounding out the top ten.

There was only another four to finish the total race distance; they consisted of Brendan Payne and Josh Munn #99, Darren and Teale Mott #435, Craig and Adam Button #469 and last across the line was Marty and Alison Scott #96.

Round 3 was back on Victorian soil and to the Wimmera/Mallee township of Rainbow as part of the final round of the CAM Australian Off Road Championship with 17 of the 56 cars entering the Victorian Championship portion of the event.

Overnight rain before both Saturday and Sunday’s races meant they were held in tyring, slippery, muddy conditions with many competitors succumbing to the conditions. It was a battle of attrition with only four teams completing the full race distance. Taking the checkered flag first was Glenn Wilkinson with daughter Courtney in their Payne DWP03 Nissan VQ35 powered ProLite #124 taking the win over Daniel Schiller and Synon Peers in the Super 1650 #280.

Rounding out the Rainbow Enduro podium was Mel and Melissa Brandle in their CanAm #6677 with last to finish the Victorian section of five laps Glenn McIntyre and /Brad Harvey in his VQ35 Turbo powered PMR03 Pro Buggy #43.

Heading into the final round of the 2017 CAMS Hi-Tec Oils/M&R Distributors Victorian Off Road Championship two competitors, David Davis and Glenn Wilkinson, were equal on points and another three still in the hunt if things went there way.

Nine competitors entered the final round, the Bruce Fiske Memorial, held at Bagshot just out of Bendigo. Getting a good prologue position was key due to the very dusty conditions. It was Eric Schlifelner in his Hayabusa powered Saber ProLite laying down a quick time with second prologue going to Alan Dixon. Rounding out the top three was David Davis with Glenn Wilkinson less than a second further back, meaning the fight for the championship was on.

After two days of racing it was Alan and Tom Dixon taking the win in their ProLite #153 ahead of second placed Glenn McIntyre and Brad Harvey in the Pro buggy #43. Rounding out the podium and an agonizingly close 2 seconds behind McIntrye was David Davis in his Saber ProLite #161.

The remaining positions were filled by Glenn and Courtney Wilkinson #124 in fourth, one lap down in fifth and first tin top was Craig and Adam Button in their CBR Mark 1 V8 Holden powered Extreme 2WD #469. Matthew Boxshall in his newly completed Extreme 4WD Patrol #851, having only completed 28 laps was the last car to be classified as a finisher.

After four rounds of racing the 2017 CAMS Hi-Tec Oils/M&R Distributors Victorian Off Road Championship, only 10 points separated first and second with David Davis on 230 points in his Saber ProLite #161 taking the win over Glenn Wilkinson on 220 points in his Payne DWP03 ProLite #124. In the final podium position was last year’s winner Alan Dixon #153 in his VQ35 Powered Southern Cross.

The outright navigators Championship was taken out by Courtney Wilkinson #124 with Brad Harvey #43 in second and Adam Button #469 rounding out the 2017 CAMS Hi-Tec Oils/M&R Distributors Victorian Off Road Navigator’s Championship.

Class Champion Drivers Championship Navigators 
Pro Class Glenn McIntyre #43 Brad Harvey #43
Pro Lite David Davis #161 Courtney Wilkinson #124
Super 1650 Andrew Glover #272 Sarai Ryan #261
Extreme 2WD Craig Button #469 Adam Button #46
Superlite B Toby Whateley #621 Simon Herrmann #621

I would like to Thank Portland Dune Buggy Club, Limestone Coast Offroad Club Inc, Victorian Off Road Racing Association and Bendigo Car Club for running each round, I would also like to thank all officials, recovery crew, media, Craig Button and anyone else I may have missed. Lastly I would like to say a HUGE Thanks to the 2017 series Sponsors Hi-Tec Oils, M&R Distributors, Werribee Mitsubishi and Show ‘n’ Go Photography. Bring on 2018!!!!